Candlestick Press


Here you can find out more about the huge range of poets we feature in our pamphlets and the artists whose work appears on our beautiful covers.

We’ve now published poems by almost 700 historical and contemporary poets. In our pages you’ll find old favourites alongside twenty-first century voices – everyone from WH Auden to Benjamin Zephaniah. Although our emphasis is on British poetry, you’ll also find Irish, American and Australian writers.

We hope these pages will encourage you to explore further the work of a poet you’ve enjoyed in one of our pamphlets.

  • Matthew Arnold

    Matthew Arnold (1822 – 1888) was a Victorian poet and social critic. After studying at Oxford he worked for many years as an inspector of schools. In 1857 he became Oxford Professor of Poetry and was the first in the role to give his lectures in English rather than Latin. One of his most famous poems is ‘The Scholar Gypsy’ which laments what he calls “the disease” of modern life.

    Featured in

  • Mona Arshi

    Mona Arshi is a poet and poetry tutor and worked as a human rights lawyer before she started writing poetry. In 2011 she completed an MA in Poetry at the University of East Anglia, after which her debut collection Small Hands (Pavilion, 2015) won the Forward Prize for Best First Collection. Dear Big Gods was published in 2019 by University of Liverpool Press.

    Featured in

  • John Ashbery

    John Ashbery (1927 – 2017) was one of the greatest American poets of the twentieth century, winning almost every one of the country’s literary awards. His first collection was Some Trees (1957) which won a competition judged by WH Auden (later said that he hadn’t understood any of the poems). Ashbery’s later work was influenced by abstract expressionism and his experience as an art critic. He believed that poetry should reflect the fluidity and uncertainty of life.

    Featured in

  • Neil Astley

    Neil Astley is editor of Bloodaxe Books, which he founded in 1978. His books include many anthologies, most notably the Bloodaxe Staying Alive trilogy, as well as two novels featuring sheep, The End of My Tether (Scribners), which was shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award, and The Sheep Who Changed the World (Flambard), about a cloned black sheep who defeats the forces of international terrorism.

    Featured in

  • Jean Atkin

    Jean Atkin is an award-winning poet based in Shropshire. Her first collection, Not Lost Since Last Time, is published by Oversteps Books. She has also published five poetry pamphlets and a children’s novel, The Crow House. She has held residencies and worked on projects, especially collaborative projects, in both Scotland and England.

    Featured in

  • Tiffany Atkinson

    Tiffany Atkinson was born in Berlin and has lived in Wales since 1993. She lectures in English and Creative Writing at Aberystwyth University. Her first collection was Kink and Particle (Seren 2006) and her third So Many Moving Parts (Bloodaxe 2014) won the Roland Mathias Poetry Award (Wales Book of the Year) in 2015.

    Featured in